Kristins
 
For my artist I choose to blog about Matthew Patton. He is a professional ceramic artist in Seattle since the 1980's. "My work is primarily decorative with a heavy emphasis on glaze effects." Patton creates many plates with vibrant glazes that tend to mix and clash together. In his early years the plates were made so anyone could eat off of them, and now "no one will ask if it's dishwasher safe anymore."  Patton doesn't want to look at his art as something that someone is going to eat off of but rather a surface for his art. I choose patton because when I  think about what i am going to glaze my projects I normally tend to stick with one color. while adding more colors that clash can come out looking.... like this

Picture
Picture
Picture
Matthew has made me realize that art doesn't need to perfect. and it doesn't always turn out the way you think or plan it to. art should be something fun. and it shouldn't be for others it should be for you.



Leave a Reply.